The new executives being sworn in

The Ghana Road Transport Coordinating Council (GRTCC) has held an election to elect new executives to steer the affairs of the organization.
GRTCC is made up of 23 Transport organizations across the country and two persons each were selected to represent the total population of 46 delegates who qualified to vote.
Positions contested for include National Chairman, 1st Vice chairman, 2nd Vice Chairman, General Secretary, Treasurer and Financial Secretary.
Mr. John Benyawor emerged the National Chairman with Nana Djan as General Secretary, Eric Yaw Agei as 1st Vice Chairman, Alhaji Mohammed Tanko-2nd Vice, Mr. Emmanuel Pink Danquah-2nd Vice, Mr. Ernest Oppong Boateng-Treasurer and Mubarak Iddrisu Lawal as the Financial Secretary.
In a speech delivered on behalf of the Transport Minister, he commended members of GRTCC for organizing a peaceful election and urged them to embraced unity always in other to move the organization higher.
The Ministry, he said, remains committed to ensure that the transport sector is safe and in conducive atmosphere.
Road safety, the Minister of Transport indicated, is a concern to government as far as the rampant accidents on our roads are concerned and would work hand in hand with the various transport unions in the country.
He urged the members to observe rules and regulations on the roads and entreated the newly elected executive to make road safety their priority.
The outgoing chairman, Mr. Amoabeng Preprah in his welcome address, appealed to the Transport Minister to assist GRTCC with a new office.
Mr. Adonteng of the Road Safety Commission disclosed his outfit intends to introduce driver training programme this year and urged the GRTCC to support the commission when the programme takes off.

By William Sarpong

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s