The Context for National Democratic Congress (NDC) regional elections continues to draw closer after successful vetting of aspirants across the country last week.
The party in a statement announced Saturday, 7th September 2018 as the Election Day, 10 October for national executive elections and finally the presidential primaries slated for 7th December 2018 ahead of the 2020 polls.
The Eastern Region race, like other regions, has attracted enthusiastic contestants committed to working hard to improve the fortunes of the party, capture political power in 2020 and rescue Ghanaians from economic hardship under the Nana Addo led-government.
The region recorded 68 members picking nomination forms for the various positions and 62 successfully went through vetting to context for the 15 positions.
The chairmanship race pits the incumbent, Bismark Tawiah Boateng against John Owusu Amankrah, Basil Ahiable and Alhaji Sumalia Mahama.
Kevor Mark-Oliver, the incumbent secretary battles it out with Baba Jamal Konneh, the incumbent communication officer.
The vice chairman position is being contested for by nine contestants namely Ransford Owusu Boakye, Stella Ansah, William K Atamudzi, Adu Stella Obeng, Abednego Djagman, George Mensah Akpalu, Kwaku Asamoah, Seidu Konate and Francis Ojabudjaahi.
The organizer, deputy secretary and women organizer positions are straight contests between Hackman S. Kabore and Tom Budu Kenneth; Sawodji Kwame Stephen and Cudjoe Adukpo; and the Evelyn Korang and Shirley Naana Osei – Ampem respectively.
For the communication officer position Yaw Appiah Kubi, Paul Opata Bradi and Darlas Ampomah E. Williams are battling it out while five people including the Managing Editor of the Daily Democrat, Emmanuel Opare Djan, Kwabena N. Eduful, Percy Ofosu Anim, Akorli Micheal Ofoe and Prince Sulleyman are for the Deputy Communication position
The Youth organizer contest is between Emmanuel Okai Mintah, Joshua Attah Mensah and Erasmus Koney Ali; Zongo Caucus Coordinator is also between Alhaji Issah Sani Mohammed, Alhaji Ahmed Ibrahim, Alhaji Baba Kankani, Abdul – Ganiyu Halidu, Aminu Issah and Alhaji Tamimu Mumuni.
The deputy youth position has Richard Nyarko, Ali Sidi Bello, Addo Elijah Mawuli, Batsa Isaac Hamillin, Amaning Samuel Danquah, Eric Kwasi Agyapong and Teddy Nana Yaw Addi contesting.
For the Deputy Women, Salamatu Abu, Faustina Effah – Boadi, Christiana Owusu Acheampong and Gladys Kpodo will battle it out.
Five people successfully went through the vetting process for Treasurer but Alhaji Aziz Mohammed alias coach pulled out days after for Ahmed Zakaria A. Kwakwa, Michaei Ofori Offei, Micheal Adu – Sei and Kwame Sakyi .
The Deputy Treasurer is being contested for by Hajia Sahadatu Ibrahim, Abdul Rasha Ahmed, Richard Lartey Obibini and Millicent P. Ablakwa
The election committee is chaired by Mavis Ama Frimpong, former Eastern regional minister with representatives from other stakeholders including former MMDCEs, MPs, and Ministers of state and party executives.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s